scope turrets loose - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 04:29 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: central pa.
Posts: 337
Back To Top
scope turrets loose

Anyone else ever have this happen ? working up a load for my 338 lapua, have a load for 185 gr barnes and 225 gr barnes. Going on a bear hunt with the possibility of 300 + yd. shot so I thought I would work up a load of 265 barnes LRX. Went to the range fri. eve. the 265 were all over the paper, this gun usually groups under an inch! Tried some 185 and they were all over! Next tried 225 and they were all over! Checked the mount screws and the screws for the stock, both were tight.Appeared as if it was shooting to the left so I thought I would change it, upon removing the caps I found the screws for the turrets were loose! They were ready to fall off ! I tightened them and the next three cut each other, then shot my last two at 200 yds. they were about 3/4 inch apart. Never had that happen before ! Anyone else ever have this happen?
7mm STW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 05:08 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
RobOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington Co. P.A.
Posts: 4,537
Back To Top
Re: scope turrets loose

the sccope turrets on all of my target/varmint scope have to have the set screws tight for the stuff inside to move. What brand scope are you using?
RobOz is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: central pa.
Posts: 337
Back To Top
Re: scope turrets loose

bushnell elite 4200 4-16x50
7mm STW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 06:54 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
RobOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington Co. P.A.
Posts: 4,537
Back To Top
Re: scope turrets loose

I would send it back to Bushnell just to be on the safe side. They give good service, especially on the Elite line of optics. I just can't see the set screws on the outside holding the erector and guts together. I have two Elites and think highly of them, but they are just regular hunting scopes.
RobOz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome