bolt stuck - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 11:46 AM Thread Starter

bolt stuck

I was on the range last week with my 2004 Remington 22-250 and after the third round the bolt was stuck,took home and used a rubber mallet to open it.The nose of bolt had piece that broke off,it was about 1/4" long 1/16"in dia. never did find the piece that broke off but now the bolt binds so i took it to a gun smith and he tried a different 700 bolt but it would not go all the way in without binding so i would have replace the bolt and housing with the bolt slides into,it would cost to much to replace so i will call Remington to see what they think that cause this.(hope it isn't Bush)
I was using reloads with a 55 grain bullet,34 grains of 4064 IMR was by no means a hot load.I only had around 125 rounds fired out of this rifle.I've been reloading for more than 30 years and never had a problem before and i check the loads that i had left and could not find anything wrong with them.Looks like i'll end up selling the stock and barrel.
When i went online their was quite a few others that had the same problem with the Remingtons.Has anyone run into this problem with Remington or any rifle?
I know i should have taken to the gunsmith before using the rubber mallet also just a couple days after i took my gun into the gunsmith he had another 700 Remington with the same problem.

What you don't see with your eyes,don't invent with your mouth.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 12:18 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: bolt stuck