11-87 or 935 For Waterfowl? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-17-2018, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

11-87 or 935 For Waterfowl?

I'm new to waterfowl hunting. I know most guys use a semi-auto but it seems that almost nobody uses a Remington 11-87 or a Mossberg 935. Is there some reason why these two guns don't seem to be used much for waterfowl? I'm considering buying one or the other so any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Winchester M70 XTR Featherweight .30-06
Marlin 336CS .30-30
Beretta A300 Outlander 12 ga.
Mossberg International Silver Reserve II 12 ga.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-17-2018, 12:19 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

I have two 12ga mag 11/87 remingtons and I like them, minor cleaning after 400 rounds is all I,ve needed to keep them running.
bohunr likes this.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-17-2018, 01:08 PM
The Man

I'm not a big waterfowler, but when I do go I take my 11-87. It has served me well for almost 30 years as my primary turkey gun, and does just fine on the water.

I think why you don't see too many Remingtons or Mossbergs in the hands of the die hard crowd is that waterfowling is extremely hard on guns. Guys who do a lot of it need a gun that will hold up to the rigors imposed on their weapons, and when it comes to autoloaders there are a few out there that outperform all others. Benelli and the other inertia driven shotguns produced by Beretta come to mind.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-17-2018, 02:09 PM
The Man

If you look on the waterfowl websites you will find negative comments about both guns. All guns will generate negative comments but the ones you mentioned seem to have more than others.

Take a look at the Franchi Affinity. It has a lot of positive comments and it is priced comparable to the guns you mentioned.