Goose Calling Issues - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Goose Calling Issues

I'm new to waterfowl hunting. I'm having trouble with my goose calling. I've been practicing and watching instructional videos on You Tube. Sometimes it sounds good, other times bad. It often seems like I run out of air and if I push less air through the call I get either weird sounds or no sound. Are short goose calls easier to blow than a flute type? I have a Buck Gardner Canada Hammer II, a Buck Gardner Gander Hammer, and a Zink Power Clucker. Are there single and double reed goose calls like there are duck calls? Are single or double reed calls easier to blow? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Winchester M70 XTR Featherweight .30-06
Marlin 336CS .30-30
Beretta A300 Outlander 12 ga.
Mossberg International Silver Reserve II 12 ga.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-11-2018, 05:43 AM

Calling

Check out this series of you tube videos by Field Proven. You can go to the step your having problems with. Keep at it you will get it.

USCG Licensed Captain

Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Mark Twain
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-11-2018, 01:17 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Calling Problems

Thanks lockedup!! I really appreciate it. I've watched some on You Tube but hadn't found that series yet. Looking forward to watching it.

Steve

Marlin 336CS .30-30
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-11-2018, 01:57 PM
The Man

Are short goose calls easier to blow than a flute type? Not really. You get more range from a short reed.

I have a Buck Gardner Canada Hammer II, a Buck Gardner Gander Hammer, and a Zink Power Clucker. Are there single and double reed goose calls like there are duck calls? Ive never seen a double reed goose call