Hunting Method Question - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-09-2018, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Hunting Method Question

I'm new to waterfowl hunting so I've been asking a lot of questions. An acquaintance told me that sometimes he does what he called "jump shooting" where he drives around scouting until he finds ducks or geese then parks and tries to sneak up on them. To me it seems kind of unethical. Is this an acceptable way to hunt waterfowl? More importantly, is it even legal? Any thoughts and opinions on this would be appreciated, thanks.

Winchester M70 XTR Featherweight .30-06
Marlin 336CS .30-30
Beretta A300 Outlander 12 ga.
Mossberg International Silver Reserve II 12 ga.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-09-2018, 07:00 PM

It's really not legal but a lot of people do it. To use a vehicle to identify and then kill game is a no no. Now if you parked a car and stalked a creek its ok. Big gray area. What your buddy does is a pretty WEAK manner of waterfowlin.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-09-2018, 07:15 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

It is way more fun to shoot at waterfowl when they are coming in versus going away....plus it is way more satisfying. I agree with the “weak” description for the most part when it comes to jump shooting birds.

I assume your buddy has acquired permission on all the places he jump shoots?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-09-2018, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Hunting Method

He has permission and some of it he does on public land. You guys have said what I was kind of thinking. I've always hunted legally and with the experience more important than killing something. I've been hunting deer, bear, turkey, and upland birds for years but never waterfowl.

Winchester M70 XTR Featherweight .30-06
Marlin 336CS .30-30
Beretta A300 Outlander 12 ga.