Main question is -how long… where would you…? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2014, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Main question is -how long… where would you…?

Hello everyone, I'm very new to trapping.
I have had a great bunny spot that turned into a coyote heaven, last week in the snow i counted at least 5 different dog tracks, two pairs and just a single. so it got me angry to say the least and i wanna go full out on them

That said, I want to target just coyotes and fox. I've learned and now how to make a set and thats not the question at hand. i know locations are key, with everything. i think i've got the right locations. Old road ways, fence rows, edges of fields. Pinch points between two fields and logging roads. after following these dogs around, i learned quiet a bit how they hunt and this location is and what i think will be a great place to take them out on a regular basis.

So My main question is , How long do you leave a set out for a dog before either saying, move it? or keep thinking he's gonna come by? a week?? How often do you check your coyote sets? everyday? other day? and how many traps do you set out for an area? i roughly figure this place to be 200 acres

the solid yellow is where the high ground, the yellow dots and arrows are the hillsides, the blue indicates the lower ground(the far left has a run off from the expressway and runs down the single blue line) the White is the old main road way of the old farm. on the far left again there is a neon green which indicates the fence from the freeway and run off, there is a fence on that side near the RED lines. which brings me to the RED, this is where i followed the tracks, on the main road and that culvert. there was two place where they slipped under that fence. so if you follow that map and continued to read this post, how many traps would you set in this area?