New Trapper in Souteast Pa - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-08-2013, 07:17 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

New Trapper in Souteast Pa

Hey all,

So I am relatively new to trapping. I grew up hunting so I am familiar with the woods and have a little experience trapping muskrats with my cousins in central Pa. However, now I am located in Southeastern Pa and would like to start trapping on my own. I have about ten conibear traps I used for muskrat last season but had no luck. I have some pictures from scouting for this season of what I think is pretty good sign. I have found great coon sign in the same area as the rats and was hoping I could get some direction on where to pick up some foot traps for the coons.

Location is also a problem for me. Right now I only have one property I have access to and am struggling to find more. Any suggestions?

Are there even any other trappers in SE PA?!

What should I use to go after coon?

Should I try setting for fox?

What am I doing wrong with the Rats?

I'm open to any and all info you have to offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-08-2013, 10:58 PM

Re: New Trapper in Souteast Pa

Head up to the farms in Berks county and offer to trap their coons.That will get your foot in the door and absolutely you should try for fox as theres plenty.I would get a dozen or 2 1 1/2 or 1 3/4 traps for the fox and coon.You will need some good lures and baits,and a book on locations.Russ Carmen has some good books on all 3 animals,and well worth the money invested
Almost any farm with a lot of corn and woods nearby will welcome you to come coon trap;start knocking on doors

yote addiction: a pack a day
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-09-2013, 03:44 AM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor