will rotten fish work for Raccoon???? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 93
Back To Top
will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

i live next to lake erie and recently there has been a lot of dead shad(3-4 inch fish) washing up. i have collected some of them and cut them up into little pieces so that i can use them for trapping next year but i don't know if they will work. if some of you experienced trappers could give me some input i would gladly appreciate it. thank you!!!!!!!!!
Noah033 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 01:18 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington Co. , Pa.
Posts: 481
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

Yes they will work for bait, I would try to get the fresher of them instead of rotten though. I freeze fish for bait, just put it in plastic containers or zip lock bags as many as you'll need at a time. 3-4 inch fish wouldn't need much cutting up.

I wouldn't pick up more than 50 at a time, I think thats the limit on baitfish
dave3 is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 03:13 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 1,816
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

While it will attract them to a degree, I feel there is such a thing as too rotten. I remember years ago, when I used to trap, I had a brilliant idea to grind up some trout into paste and let them it sit out in a container for a few days in the sun. Caught one coon on that rancid mix vs about 8 on fresh, just thawed out of the freezer trout.
BowMaster5687 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 08:39 AM
Moderator
 
PAlimbhanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In the pines
Posts: 1,719
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

When I was young I use to live near a private hatchery and I would get some of the trout that had died and cut them up for bait amd froze them. I used it for coon and mink and it worked for me. I always took the ones that had thier color instead of the pale ones. If it is rotten I think you would get more skunks and opposums.

A squakin' turkey don't live long
PAlimbhanger is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 11:05 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Callmaker60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: camp hill, Pa.
Posts: 3,162
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

Everything I am reading says fresh is better.

Matthew 22:37-40
Callmaker60 is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 03:16 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fenelton Pa
Posts: 453
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

Fresher has always been better for me. Chop them up then lay the pieces out individually on a cookie sheet and freeze them. When frozen put them all into a container and when you go to use them they wont be stuck together in one big clump.
woodsman1118 is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 03:26 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Middletown, Pa.
Posts: 7,037
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

I have never used fish, fresh or otherwise, for coon.

Some trappers report having good success when using canned fish like jack mackerel bought at discount stores.

When I chose to target a raccoon, I often used a deep dirt hole set with one ounce of fish oil poured directly down the bait hole.

Other times I used a charred ear of field corn tossed in the hole.

I do not know if a three or four inch fish would have enough substance to throw off much of an odor.

Good luck.

I trap mink because I don't know any better
OldMink is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 07:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: pa, pittsburgh, usa
Posts: 174
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

Fish ( fresh ) works great on coon and you will also pick up Mink in pocket sets baited with fish !!!!
gibsonlespaul is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 09:55 PM
New Arrival
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: clarion co.
Posts: 18
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

grind them up and mix in some honey and peanut butter. makes a nice paste and works good on coon and grey's.

2013-14
red
grey
coon
coyote
rats
mink beaver
mac96 is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-01-2013, 10:10 PM
The Man
 
Pa-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 4-E
Posts: 5,103
Back To Top
Re: will rotten fish work for Raccoon????

I used to use sardines... but that was a long time ago and the price was right.

Good Sanctuary vs. Good Food Plot
Sanctuary wins by a first round Knockout!
Pa-Guy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome