My first wax dip??? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

My first wax dip???

This was my first time dipping traps in wax. I got 10lbs of non scented candle wax from ac moore. I had my traps dipped in KBL dip,dried for 2 weeks then i waxed. My wax was very brown when i was done and i thought my traps kind of had a smell by the time i was done waxing but after drying i didn't notice any smell. I seem to have some buildup on some spots on the traps, on the bottom where it was dripping. What im wondering if this is normal? Did i do it correctly? This is my first time waxing. Im not sure if the pics do any justice. any help will be greatly appriciated. Thank you for your time

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 10:08 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Re: My first wax dip???

The traps look great to me.....

Your wax will end up discolored over time. The heating process when you put the traps in the wax will take some of the dye or dip off. No big deal. Not sure about the KBL, or the candle wax, as I haven't used it before.

The drips of wax are really not an issue unless they are in places that interfere (end of the pan, end of the dot, swivels etc). I leave mine in the wax for a good 60 seconds until the trap gets to the same temp as the wax. Pull them out and shake them really good to get the excess wax off.

Once the wax cools on the traps, I use a flathead screwdriver and a file to clean up the notch in my trap pan and the end of my dog. Then i make sure to twist all of my swivels to make sure they move and aren't waxed solid....
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 10:45 PM
Part of the Community

Normally you don't wax over KBL,it is supposed to do what the wax does.I am not surprised you noticed an odor. If the wax was hot enough you probably scortched the KBL.I don't know what to tell you to do to get rid of the odor.