Floating Creeks - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 12:38 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Floating Creeks

How do you guys handle floating creeks or rivers for trapping?Question is do you have to get permission from every land owner along the creek before you set?I have wanted to do a float trip for a long time and wasn't sure how to go about it the right way.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 06:36 PM
The Man

Re: Floating Creeks

I do not know the law, but was always told that on rivers and large creeks so long as you stayed below the high water banks, you were good to go. These places were navigable waters and open to all.

But like I said, I am no lawyer or in law enforcement so I don't know chapter and verse, just what I was always told.

I trap mink because I don't know any better
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 08:03 PM

No you must get permission from landowners for most waterways.... http://fishandboat.com/water/public/...lic_waters.htm Also there is this..Important note to anglers -- Many waters in Pennsylvania are privately owned, the listing or mapping of waters by the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission does not guarantee public access. Respect the privacy and rights of landowners - always obtain permission before entering any privately owned land. Approved Trout streams we are allowed to fish through the grace of L/O's, but even on those certain "posted" areas may not get stocked..

I f it worked I sent a PM to the OP.

“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?” Douglas Adams
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 08:09 PM

look up navigable waterways for PA. There is a list that is established by law Which streams are owned by the Commonwealth. Small streams are generally private. But you may be surprised.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 09:22 PM