Bait and Lure question - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 11:06 AM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Bait and Lure question

I am just starting out in trapping, Whats the best bait and lure to use for fox and coyote? How should i go about using these? Bait in the hole,lure on the outside? Thank you for your time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 06:15 PM
The Man

Re: Bait and Lure question

Bait and lure choices are a matter of personal preferences. There is no one best. Put your bait right down the hole. Some trappers put their lure there too, others on the back lip of the hole. Only time and experience will show you which way works best for you.

I trap mink because I don't know any better
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 07:05 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

any commercial fox lure should work. As Oldmink pointed out put your bait down the hole and lure on the back lip of the hole. I like to add a ball of grass or sheep wool down the hole on top of the bait to make the critter work a little harder to remove the bait. It makes the critter take a few extra steps in the trap bed trying to get the grass or wool out, giving more chances of him hitting the pan.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Thank you, is there anything i should stay away from? does anyone ever "cut" there lure to make it go farther or does that take away from the scent?
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 02:20 PM
Part of the Community