Duke DPs? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 4,501
Back To Top
Duke DPs?

I wanted to use rebar to anchor them.What kind of swivel do I need to buy so the rebar can fit through it since the factory end swivel isnt wide enough
Lackawanna Fox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 06:00 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central pa
Posts: 749
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

3/8 rebar will fit the factory swivel....if you have 1/2 rebar just buy new swivels and put on the ends of your chains...most all after market swivels will accomodate the 1/2 rebar these days....
walkercoonhunter is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 06:04 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 9,145
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

I don't know the answer to your specific question, but I do have one regarding anchoring them in general.

I saw somewhere that some guys were using a 4' piece of cable with an adjustable loop on each end and attaching that to their trap. That allows them to quickly attach to trees, roots, etc by just using the cable and it's easy to attach a stake that way too if you're setting in an area with no trees or roots.

I tried it out and am really happy with the results.

"I suppose it is the way of hunters. We are very odd fellows." ~ Peter Hathaway Capstick
Adam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 4,501
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

walker I'll be buying from F&T
what swivel should I get?
Lackawanna Fox is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 06:49 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: venango co,pa
Posts: 2,428
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

i had to give the factory swivels a wack with a hammer to fit a 1/2 stake. i've went to using 1/8"cable with a quick connector for anchoring them,about 3' long with double loops on both ends.wrap around a tree,slide end thru loop,put quick connector on end and swivel and tighten up.no pounding and the loop tightens up on the tree to keep the coon from climbing.

life member pa trappers
distric 1,venango co leader
life member vfw
member fta
member nta
cooncrazy is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 07:04 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central pa
Posts: 749
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

coon and adam i do the same exact thing.....but im changing up this year and going with chain....with chain i dont have to worry about it getting all kinked up like cable....

and i also run a 35 lb shock spring so if the coon does get tangled up it cant use its leverage to power out...
walkercoonhunter is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 07:06 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 9,145
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

That's some thing to think about with the shock spring. Thanks

"I suppose it is the way of hunters. We are very odd fellows." ~ Peter Hathaway Capstick
Adam is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 08:04 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central pa
Posts: 749
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

i will have a limited supply of these springs at the convention...
walkercoonhunter is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 08:39 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
trapperrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Somerset County, PA
Posts: 4,155
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

I've never tried DP's but heard so many good things about them I plan on getting some. I'll be looking to pick up a few at the rondy this Saturday along with MB450's and lure.

The horizon is your starting point.
trapperrick is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2012, 03:19 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hamburg, Pa
Posts: 120
Back To Top
Re: Duke DPs?

I highly suggest adding the shocks springs too. Between my buddy and I this year, we had 8 or 9 pullouts. We added springs halfway through the year and no more pullouts.
xtrainer105 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome