first season learning experience!!! PICS - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 01:31 AM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

first season learning experience!!! PICS

I am very new to trapping, got my first traps after deer season this year. At first I was not bedding them very well as you can see. I was getting dig outs on a regular basis.

After some coaching from an old friend who is experienced, I got my first coon, in a dirt hole set ( first catch ever)

With all the crazy warm weather and rain we have been experiencing, my first year has brought a lot of work dealing with my sets and remaking them, so the first snow was welcome, but brought another first, that wasnt so pleasant. WOW was he stinky!!!!

After the snow melted, and more rain started to fall, I told my wife that I was going to pull all my traps this morning when I went out. This being my first year I didnt have high hopes for connecting on any K-9s, but to my surprise when I got to my first spot this is what I found. Wow was I excited!!!!

With a nice fox under my belt during my first year I was more than happy!!! So on to pull the rest of my sets. I pull up to my last spot and believe it or not, I have another fox!!!! Holy crap 2 in one day, and on the last day for me this year!!! I know that a lot of guys probably get more than 2 in a day, but I think that is pretty good for a newbie. thanks for all the help and advice!!!

oh... got this guy too. kinda neat but hard to deal with, because of he was not very friendly. lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 02:09 AM

Re: first season learning experience!!! PICS