First red and cant connect at hayset pics - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: York Co PA
Posts: 1,007
Back To Top
First red and cant connect at hayset pics

Got my first red in a dirthole, and have had some near misses at my hayset. Made some changes to the set and moved my camera so the maybe they will work it longer without the flash.




charman03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 08:55 PM
Regular Member
 
YodelDog827's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Indiana,PA
Posts: 1,045
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

Nice Pictures! Those are near misses indeed. That is what makes it so addictive. Now you wanna catch those foxes.
YodelDog827 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 10:27 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 2B
Posts: 194
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

By an IR or get rid of that flash camera period. I will bet you that you never have a pic after that first flash. THEY ARE GONE I used to use one. Now I have an IR last few years and have several pictures of them still sticking around. The only animal at my set or bait piles that notices the IR for some reason is a fisher.
PawsnClaws is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: York Co PA
Posts: 1,007
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

I have multiple pics of each animal and alot of the grey. Didnt seem to bother him or the coons, but the reds didnt hang out too long. I know whats there and put a few more blind sets in where they walk off. Moved the cam to dif location.
charman03 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 10:50 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Pa
Posts: 176
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

I hope you used them pics and adjust your trap position...I know where id have it now
Brock is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 10:56 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: pa
Posts: 1,678
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

flash does not bother them at all
338/378wm is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 11:17 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Trapperspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 45, Jefferson, york county
Posts: 968
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

good pics, good luck
Trapperspaz is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 11:46 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 2B
Posts: 194
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

Quote:
Originally Posted by 338/378wm
flash does not bother them at all
Ya your right that's why we all use white lights for night hunting lol
PawsnClaws is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-08-2012, 11:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 12,754
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

congrats on the red!

is that stick on the ground there for guiding??? seems awful large for guiding..but im no pro...

some guys like to angle their scent post away from the trap as well..might help in that set...


have you tried a hayset without the post?? that set seems like it works..but, seems like its hard to get em to go where you want them too...

a real hayset you can put some lure behind the trap so they have to cross over the trap to get near the lure...

i also like to put my scent posts with a natural blocking behind it to limit where they will walk..like yours, i would put a half a foot off from the brush edge to keep them approaching from the front..not letting them walk all around...

you got the critters...fine tuning the set and/or putting in a few more sets should have you skinning!

good luck!
mauser06 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-09-2012, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: York Co PA
Posts: 1,007
Back To Top
Re: First red and cant connect at hayset pics

thanks mauser. I actually had a hay set there from the beginning and no fox were visiting it, just coons, but when it rains that whole corner down there floods. So when it flooded a few weeks ago I removed the traps and for some reason just put that stick in the ground LOL. Checked the cam the other day and had fox all over that stick, so I just cleaned up the hay a bit and added some sets. It actually hs traps all around it, and a few of the fox have to be standing on parts of the trap. I re-positioned and set traps differently today, I have high hopes for the next few days at that set and the remake from the first catch.

Im still learning, and i'd like to hear more on the scent post, because they seem to love checking out that stick in the ground with a little fox pee on it.
charman03 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome