Do you guys actually dispatch animals with a... - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-04-2012, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Do you guys actually dispatch animals with a...

a rabbit/"falcon" punch often?

Look I will freely admit to knowing very little about trapping. I ask this because I saw it in the Education Materials.

http://www.hunter-ed.com/pa/course/8...tm#dispatching
Quote:
At some locations, traps can be set to drown the animal when caught. An example of this type of setup is a snare placed in the water. Finally, the least preferred way to dispatch a trapped animal is by using blunt force to the back of the animal's head.
Like I said I am very new to hunting and even more so with trapping. I dunno it just seems wrong to drown an animal to death or beat it to death... caveat if it's trying to kill you in the field. That's different. It seems like it's better to just use a trap to kill the animal outright, but then again cable restraints seem to be better at preventing unintended animals, livestock, or domestic pets from being killed. Then their is the whole issue of the animal being highly stressed when trapped.

If I'm misunderstanding anything please feel free to clue me in. Perhaps I'm only looking at the extreme situations which happen rarely or are as a last resort. I mean I personally find trapping and fur-bearing interesting, but like I said I have a lot to learn about it and I've always found the best way to move from ignorance to knowledge is to read OR ask someone. I have a friend who is an American of Korean descent and I asked him to explain the whole dog eating thing, because I figured I'd rather ask someone who knew (and he did and wasn't offended, heck if he was he wouldn't have been an usher at my wedding). So I ask here in that same principle.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-04-2012, 04:35 PM
Frequent Contributor