How to make good coyote/fox/coon bait?? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

How to make good coyote/fox/coon bait??

This is my first year trapping, I'm actualy picking up my traps and stretchers this evening from my uncle. Trying to figure out what else I need to make this happen?? Also I want to make some bait, any recipes for some good bait? Thanks

2011 Pse xforce vendetta XS
2010 Mathews hyperlite
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 11:42 AM
Frequent Contributor

Re: How to make good coyote/fox/coon bait??

for coon you can mix up some jack mackerel/ marshmallows/fish oil/ syrup/ jelly, etc. Works great and they love it. or just use jack mackeral works just as good alone. for fox and coyote I make a bait with tainted beaver meat and some castor. any ground meat with beaver castor would work good
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

As of now I only have traps, strechers, and some tools. Can you think of anything else I'm going to need?

2011 Pse xforce vendetta XS
2010 Mathews hyperlite
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 11:44 PM

The only thing I can say is have fun with trapping. It is only my second year and I get very frusterated wondering why I am not catching anything. I see the pics of all the guys on here whom are catching yotes and fox nightly. Then I remember that I have huge amounts to learn still. If you can find a experienced trapper who will work with you that would be priceless. Good Luck and Tight Chains.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 03:23 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman