Too many sets? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Belleville
Posts: 837
Back To Top
Too many sets?

I'm afraid I might put too many sets on one farm but would like to hear what those with more experience have to say: at the base of a ridge there's an old railroad bed that runs aways in both directions, thought about putting a set or two along there assuming fox run the old tracks; a couple hundred yards below that a big creek runs parallel to the rr bed and I'd like to put a set or two along it assuming fox also run up and down the creek; then 300 or 400 yards above the creek a tree line runs through crop land (corn and beans) and I'd like to put set or two at the top corner of that assuming fox run that tree line . . . think that's too many sets for one farm? Thanks
snappertrapper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 03:29 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: cumberland co., pa
Posts: 573
Back To Top
Re: Too many sets?

if it is a new farm, gang set the heck out of it. after a couple days you will know where the critters are running. then, next year you will only have to set where you caught the fur the previous year.
eagerbeaver is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 07:34 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: N.W. Pa
Posts: 768
Back To Top
Re: Too many sets?

Snapper

Yep what eagerbeaver said...Even us old guys can't hit the key locations all the time on a new farm.We just might dial into the locations abit faster.Set it heavy.Traps sitting in the back of the truck aren't doing you any good there anyways...Sounds like your on your way about locations..Good luck
ewoktrapper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2011, 12:58 AM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: pa
Posts: 116
Back To Top
Re: Too many sets?

6-8 sets will work.caught fox in the upper 20's per location many times but you have to set it!! OR YOU WILL CATCH LESS
nitefox is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2011, 11:18 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bradford County
Posts: 2,700
Back To Top
Re: Too many sets?

Yep, set it up!
Renny28 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2011, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Belleville
Posts: 837
Back To Top
Re: Too many sets?

Will do, thanks fellas
snappertrapper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome