The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

Beaver slide

723 views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  Hern 
#1 ·
I’m a novice to beaver trapping, even though I have been in the woods my entire life. On one of our ponds there were a set of tracks and a long slide mark into a whole in the ice. Would a beaver do that or only otters? Never saw an otter in this area before, but maybe something moved in?

#2 ·
Are their beavers in close proximity? A lodge or bank holes? If there’s snow, where do the tracks go? Is there a trail leading to fresh cuttings? Although otters are well known for their slides, beavers will often slide down a bank into the water also.

A couple days ago something caught my eye while driving along a river while checking traps. I saw a trail in the snow, that ended abruptly 40 feet from the river. At the river’s edge, a large beaver ( could see front and back tracks ) had slid down the bank back into the water. Looking closer, there were 2 large, deep bank den holes, one on either side of slide/trail. It took me a minute to process what I was looking at.....beavers had climber out of the river and were cleaning the snow/ice off their breather hole for the bank dens.

#3 ·
There are beavers in the area. A lodge in the swamp not to far away. The wind had swept away where the tracks came from and the ice was a little to thin to walk out on to check what they looked like. The slide was about 30 feet long and disappeared into a whole in the ice in the middle of the pond

#4 ·