Dead Deer as Bait - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-02-2011, 08:06 PM Thread Starter

Dead Deer as Bait

You guys who set up trails with CRs leading into Dead Deer...

How many days before you have gotten a Catch?

I had a Guy tell me last night that I should expect atleast 1 catch a night off the deer I found since there is Fox and Coyotes working on it....nothing today..the body of that dead deer didn't even look like it was touched at all from yesturday to this morning!

I set a few CRs about 100 yards out from it deeper into the woods where it is laying then went another 100 yards toward the field in the area it is at and set there... had 1 CR flipped off the Support wire, which was the first CR between the deer and the field...no deer tracks...CR was Straightened out and the loop closed, All other CRs were setting just like I set them yesturday!

This is my First time setting a Trail leading into a Dead Deer, Never thought I would set on something like this but yesturday when I was setting and ran onto it and saw how heavy the Trail was leading to it then to the Field I could not pass up an opportunity like it!

I HOPE 100 yards away from it is far enough to avoid the Buzzards!! I found this morning where there is pieces of hide that was laying in the field, most likely from a bird of some kind carrying it away?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-02-2011, 10:56 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Dead Deer as Bait

Don't set so far away, I'd stay within 30' or so, maybe even closer depended on the surrounding cover. If you're worried about burning out the trail, just put them on a slide cable to get them out of the area before they tear it up.
No regulation dictates a distance you must be from the bait, I've been through this many times with many WCOs and I always get the answer to "Use your best judgement".