Hair falling out???? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-06-2016, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Hair falling out????

Caught a possum in the morning and skinned warm around 9 or 10am. left it sit all day and fleshed around 7 30 pm. Finished fleshing and notice balls of hair falling out. So i flipped the pelt fur out and noticed basically all the hair on the neck area had completely fallen out. what causes this???

The early bird gets the worm but the second mouse gets the cheese.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-06-2016, 12:54 AM

Re: Hair falling out????

Fleshing...if you push too hard it happens. There is a knack to it and I am not very good at it either.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-06-2016, 01:27 AM

Possum are tricky. Their leather is thin, and as Coonduke stated, it takes a light touch. Many times you'll end up with hair pulling through, ending up with hair on your leather side. Or in your case ,you'll cut the base of the hairs off, resulting in a lot of slipping fur. They're good skins to practice with, as you're not out much if you mess up. I have always put them up, as I don't like to see an animal wasted. Sent a bunch out to Moyles to get tanned , make nice trim. Used it on this hood.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-06-2016, 01:52 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

issue is if i cut the hair follicles like you say i feel like id have some physical evidence of this. but after i finished i was quite happy with the leather. nice and white with no hair pulling through much like alot of hides ive done this season with no problems. does that still sound typical of cutting the follicles?

post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-06-2016, 02:15 AM