remakes - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-16-2015, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 75
Back To Top
remakes

I have been catching a lot of raccoons in dirtholes for fox. I remake the set just like I would if I caught a red. Problem is I have not had any fox touch the sets after the coon catches. Do you guys use a new trap and make a set at a new location or just do what I have been doing? Thanks.
sheesh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-16-2015, 11:51 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Foxbelt, Pa
Posts: 209
Back To Top
Re: remakes

Keep doing what your doing.
Berky is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 12:02 AM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Union County
Posts: 226
Back To Top
Re: remakes

Personally I think it depends on the pressure. If there is a lot of trapping pressure around you, they can be fussy about circles. Particularly circles that have a very pronounced edge. If it doesn't look like a UFO landing site, I put the set back just the same. If it does, I'll remake the set right on the edge of the circle so he doesn't have to commit to the circle and then commit to the set itself after it enters.
Andrew C. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 02:33 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: W. PA
Posts: 1,510
Back To Top
Re: remakes

If only a single set put in another a few feet away and you will know. Doubles are good, triples even better.

The difference between dreamers and achievers is action.
One try is worth a thousand guesses.
Kip Feroce is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 75
Back To Top
Re: remakes

I usually put in double sets. Problem is I have been catching way more than normal coons. I've had two doubles on coon in my fox sets and no foxes since I caught the coons. And I have a limited number of traps so I don't want to clean and wax if I don't have to.
sheesh is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2015, 08:29 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: District 8
Posts: 928
Back To Top
Re: remakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheesh
And I have a limited number of traps so I don't want to clean and wax if I don't have to.

Coon really shine a trap. Rust will show up soon, especially with weather we are having.
smith101 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome