Son Who Wants To Trap - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2015, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Son Who Wants To Trap

My 12 year old son really wants to start trapping and I have zero experience or knowledge to help him out. Any suggestions to help get him started would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

EXPERIENCE IS SOMETHING YOU DON'T GET UNTIL JUST AFTER YOU NEED IT!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2015, 09:24 AM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Son Who Wants To Trap

This is exactly how I got started trapping. Son wanted to, I knew nothing an had little to no desire to start trapping. Locate someone for your son to go with on a trap line for the rest of this season. If you don't know of someone this is a good place to find someone. Fortunately I knew of a fellow. Here's the thing though. Being that your son is young, you probably will want to go too, so you'll want to see how it's done so you can help if needed. If you do what I did and tag along... You'll get hooked. Then it will be time to break out the wallet, LOL. It's priceless though, I wouldn't trade the experience and time with my son for anything. We love it.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2015, 01:06 PM
Frequent Contributor

buy 1 or 2 traps, make a few simple log sets, bait with rotten meat and catch possum to start. definitely helps to have a seasoned mentor. but, if your son is anything like me at that age i was EXCITED when i caught my first grey squirrel using a marshmallow, and you dont need a pro for that lol! : D just start out getting a feel for it, make mistakes, and once you REALLY catch the bug (and you will) you can invest money into more and better equipment. Good Luck to you and your son and i hope you have success!

The early bird gets the worm but the second mouse gets the cheese.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2015, 03:46 PM