Bobcat ? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Bobcat ?

Is there any possibility that some of the veteran trappers could provide a checklist of everything that they woould use to trap bobcats this is my first year, Im in a good area, and have spent deer season scouting for cats...looking good as far as sign. Thanks in advance for your help. PS Im planning to build a couple cubby sets

Take the time to show some respect for the animals we hunt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 03:52 PM
Administrator

Re: Bobcat ?

OK you have cat sign located that's half the battle so just remember this [LOCATION] of your cubby set.

Well we all have our preferences but I prefer to use #3 roundjaws in my cubby sets. Inside my cubbies I use beaver carcass and I swear by Asa Lenon's cat lure. Don't expect a catch right away because sometimes it takes a cat awhile to make his rounds.

Best of luck to you.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 04:21 PM
Frequent Contributor

I am only sharing info shared with me as last year was my first attempt at a cat.

Here is info shared with me from Asa Lenon.

Bobcat are easy animals to catch. All one needs is the proper general location, proper set location and a lure that will most always appeal to their fickle nature.
There are three kinds of sets that are deadly on bobcat depending upon the weather or/if and how much snow we have.