Trap Wax - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2015, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Trap Wax

This is my first year waxing traps. Been dying the past few, but never waxed my own.

I went with the double boiler method & I think everything turned out pretty well but I had a question about the left over wax.

This year I used walnut hulls to color my traps, this worked extremely well might I add & saved me a few buck for dye.

When waxing I had some left over pieces of hull stuck to my traps that ultimately were then left in the wax pot. Also some color leached off as well, but that's to be expected I think.

do those of you who wax their own traps filter their hot wax when finish? or just leave the dirt, hulls, grass what ever in the pot and fire it up again next year?

here's a photo of my cooled wax this morning...was clear, now brownish.

and the finished product
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2015, 03:49 PM

Re: Trap Wax

I simply let it cool, secure a lid on it and reuse as is the next year.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2015, 07:24 PM
The Man

Nice job. Traps look good.

<span style="color: #660000"><span style="font-weight: bold">When waxing I had some left over pieces of hull stuck to my traps that ultimately were then left in the wax pot. Also some color leached off as well, but that's to be expected I think.
do those of you who wax their own traps filter their hot wax when finish? or just leave the dirt, hulls, grass what ever in the pot and fire it up again next year?</span></span>
When you take traps from boiling dye, hose them off immediately to rinse off excess dye and residue. Can be placed on plywood or paved driveway, to rinse off. Then hang to dry before waxing.
Your traps will leave less dye and residue in the wax pot with a good rinsing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2015, 08:30 PM