Beaver input - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-20-2014, 01:20 AM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

Beaver input

I am headed to camp at Pymatuning on Saturday to put in 5 days of beaver trapping. I have some areas scouted(hope the ice is gone). Any suggestions on sets that are productive or other tips will be welcome. This is my first time for beaver. I got a few in Dec. in Ohio under the ice, but never had any open water. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-20-2014, 04:08 AM
Regular Visitor

Re: Beaver input

I really like setting a dive log out for them. Find a narrow part of the crick that the beavers are running an run a decent size log the whole way across. Have the log just barley under water so the beaver has to dive under it. Put a 330 coni in the middle of the crick under the log. Run a fence of sticks to block off its path so it has no other way to go but through the trap. I also like running snares for them also. Very effective.

Field Staff at Boondock Outdoors
Field Staff at Bees O'Brien Game Calls
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-20-2014, 09:02 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAnighthunter89
I really like setting a dive log out for them. Find a narrow part of the crick that the beavers are running an run a decent size log the whole way across. Have the log just barley under water so the beaver has to dive under it. Put a 330 coni in the middle of the crick under the log. Run a fence of sticks to block off its path so it has no other way to go but through the trap. I also like running snares for them also. Very effective.
That's exactly how I caught that beaver this past Saturday. Also, beavers are very territorial, make a castor mound set. Just pile mud on the bank with some beaver castor. Either place a #3 coilspring in front or set a 330 in a channel before the castor mound.

The horizon is your starting point.
Sponsored Links