How much do you move in a stand? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2019, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
New Arrival

How much do you move in a stand?

Hey everyone, I've only been hunting for the past 4 years, pretty much self taught from youtube and reading. I'm hunting my small 3 acre spot on a hillside, from a ladder stand.

I have my stand in a new position, as far back in my property as I can go, but unfortunately not at the top of the hill - it goes just a bit further so deer coming over the edge are pretty much at eye level with me at first - maybe 30 yards out. I was out on saturday for a full 12 hour sit (oof) and saw quite a bit of action, smaller bucks, bunch of doe moving around.

I look around a lot, especially the longer I sit I find myself twisting around to look behind my tree, trying to make sure nothing's coming up behind me. Well at around 1:30 I was looking around and suddenly noticed a really, really nice buck, over the top of the hill where it flattens out, around 60-70 yards away, just staring right. at. me. So I'm pretty sure he busted me turning my head, looking around.

I swear these things are forest ghosts. One minute there's nothing, the next they're standing there.

Anyway he didn't bolt or anything, just looked around a bit in different directions, I did a couple soft grunts while his head was turned, and then he basically turned a 180 and slowly walked the other way.

I'm almost positive he saw me moving, didn't spook necessarily but didn't feel comfortable heading in my direction any more.

So my question is, how much are you looking around? Do you turn your head a lot? Or just try to be a statue and look with your eyes?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2019, 10:11 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman