Saddle Hunting Platform - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 21Likes
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 51 (permalink) Old 09-01-2019, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Saddle Hunting Platform

I graduated from a full body harness, to a rock climbing harness, and now to a Tethrd Mantis saddle.
I wanted to make an ultra lite platform for those quick "hour after work" hunts since that's what I tend to hunt most anymore. I put a lone wolf seat on a lone wolf stick and the total weight came in at 4.4 pounds. I'll either take in all four sticks with aiders or maybe just do a "two stick" method and leapfrog the first stick until I get to the height I need....then hang the stick with the platform.

I'm really liking the Tethrd Mantis. Even with the RC harness I found myself standing and leaning more than sitting. The true saddle makes it even more comfortable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lone wolf platform 1.jpg (74.1 KB, 574 views)
File Type: jpg lone wolf platform 2.jpg (69.8 KB, 558 views)
File Type: jpg lone wolf platform 4.jpg (79.9 KB, 560 views)
File Type: jpg lone wolf platform 5.jpg (69.8 KB, 564 views)

ProSqueezing Pro Staff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 51 (permalink) Old 09-01-2019, 08:25 PM

Me likey.

I can get the sticks hung pretty quick and quiet, but the stand is always noisey and time consuming, not to mention cumbersome to carry in. This looks like it might be a better solution.
bohunr likes this.

Pence/Putin 2024
post #3 of 51 (permalink) Old 09-01-2019, 08:43 PM
Frequent Contributor

Fairchild, awesome. thanks for sharing another light weight portable option other than a climber or sticks with traditional Hang on. This could be sweet for a rut week short afternoon set that you only planned on leaving out for a couple weeks.

As far as same day portable sets... I would be game for trying this, however I’m still hesitant it would save me any time compared to a climber.
bohunr likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement