cast conicals - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

cast conicals

I haven't noticed anyone mentioning using conicals cast from Lee R.E.A.L. moulds. I've been doing this for several years with good results in a homebuilt flintlock with an Orion fast twist barrel. Casting a 250 gr slug, lubing with SPG lube and loading over 85 gr of 777 gives just under 1400 fps. Most recently, I tried them in a T/C Impact with 80 gr of Blackhorn209. Velocity increased to just over 1600 fps with promising accuracy...and much more noticeable recoil. I haven't always gotten complete pass-throughs on deer at the lower velocity, especially if bones were hit. The higher velocity from the Impact should solve that problem. Anybody else have any success with these?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 02:32 PM
The Man

Re: cast conicals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windsniffer
I haven't noticed anyone mentioning using conicals cast from Lee R.E.A.L. moulds. I've been doing this for several years with good results in a homebuilt flintlock with an Orion fast twist barrel. Casting a 250 gr slug, lubing with SPG lube and loading over 85 gr of 777 gives just under 1400 fps. Most recently, I tried them in a T/C Impact with 80 gr of Blackhorn209. Velocity increased to just over 1600 fps with promising accuracy...and much more noticeable recoil. I haven't always gotten complete pass-throughs on deer at the lower velocity, especially if bones were hit. The higher velocity from the Impact should solve that problem. Anybody else have any success with these?
I have no experience myself with them, but I heard more than one Canadian say they thought the all lead conical would be the way to go on their heavier shouldered game. They all say they experienced penetration issues, and switched back to a plain old roundball.