Does powder go bad? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-25-2013, 03:24 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Does powder go bad?

I went to the range today and the gun would not fire. Seemed to make ok spark and the touch hole was clear. Could the powder be bad. It had been sitting in my truck for about a week in the cold weather. Anything else I should check? I'm pretty new to this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-25-2013, 03:51 AM

Re: Does powder go bad?

Are you sure it's real black powder? If it's a sub powder a flinter won't ignite the pan very good.
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-25-2013, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

I used goex ffg for the charge and ffffg for the priming. Its worked in three past just fine but didn't this year. The powder is about eight years old.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-25-2013, 11:03 AM
Banned

Location: Armstrong Co. Pennsyltucky, Camp : Huston Hill, Elk /Cameron County

It's cold out and sometimes heating up your flinter in a vehicle or in the house can create some moisture (sweat) in the barrel. Your main charge may just be a bit damp.

I know this sounds silly...make sure you loaded powder first. Anyone that shoots flinter long enough "dry loads" one eventually ( in my case 3 times at one range session).

Okay, you have powder. remove your touch hole liner and work a small amount of 4f, 3f whatever powder you use in the pan. Do not pack the flash channel full, just get some fresh powder in it. After this give it a try.

If you are using a "sub" (synthetic powder, 777, Pyro etc.) this method will still work for you.

BP is very stable and I have never heard of it going bad. There is talk here on the site that subs have a short shelf life. I have shot 777 in the flinter for about 12 years and I have not experienced this either with powder up to 3 yrs old.