Beginner tries ... now the questions... - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2011, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Beginner tries ... now the questions...

First I want to say good luck to all the late season hunters out there. Second I want to apologize if I ask anything that has been answered before, I am new to the flintlock and trying to learn but have some questions/ requests for help about what I am doing.
I am using a TC Renegade 54 cal Flintlock (1:48 twist I believe) - I put in a new English flint and am using FFg in the barrel and FFFFg (3 grain measure) in the pan; I swab the barrel with a wet patch and a dry one between each shot.

Now, a request for help.... any thoughts or suggestions...
Shooting from 30 yards, I have adjusted my aim as high as I can, but am still about 8-10 inches below my bullseye. I am getting about a 6 inch grouping, but I want to get it up to the target before I worry about tightening it up. I was shooting 90 grains powder with a patched 530 roundball (my scale says they are about 226 grains, the box doesn't have that labelled). Just to see what it would do, I tried some variation (60 grains, and 120 grains) and saw no difference in the height.
So, since my sights will not let me raise the aim any more, how do I get my point of impact up where I need to be? If I am this far off at 30 yards, what will I be at 75 or 100..

And some other questions I am wondering about:
1. When I grease the patch, do I need to grease both sides, or just the side contacting the barrel?
2. Do I need a layer of grease on the patch, or just be sure it is infused into the weave?
3. My father-in-law had some Maxiballs (scale says 416 grains), do I need to use greased patches with this, or will the grease in the grooves be enough to only use the lead without the patch?