Help....need to do it right - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2011, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Help....need to do it right

OK, so I've been using a flintlock for about 7 years and basically I'm "self taught" (which is why I'm asking for help). I have only ever harvested 1 doe, but have missed MORE than I will admit. This year I want to get serious. I just installed a set of fiber optic sights on my TC Hawken and went out tonight to sight it in. After 3 shots at 25 yards I was on the paper. I'm shooting rb's with prelubed patches. My question is this....the first ball/patch went it fairly easy, but each ball after was extremely more difficult. Shoud I be cleaning between shots? Sure will be hard to do if I'm trying to get off a second shot (which has been pretty normal for me) at a deer. What can I do to make it easier?? Or let me know what I'm doing wrong.
THANKS!

<span style="font-weight: bold">Traderdave</span>
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2011, 10:37 PM

Re: Help....need to do it right

Almost all target match shooters wipe between shots. a wet patch followed by a dry. Some rifling fouls less, some loads foul the rifling less. Sounds like fouling is clogging it up a bit.

You are going hunting with a clean barrel. Why would you try to sight for hunting with a fouled barrel? It throws your point of impact off. Your second follow up shot in the woods will most likely be much closer and fine aim not as important.

You have a 28 inch barrel, what load and powder are you using.
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2011, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

I'm using 80 grains FFg Goex and FFFFg in the pan. Wipe between shots with alcohol? bore cleaner? I have a new bottle of TC No. 13 Bore cleaner.
I appreciate your help!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2011, 11:29 PM