Bullets or Balls ? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2020, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Bullets or Balls ?

I an brand new to the Muzzleloader lifestyle. I just purchased a clean, used Thompson Center .50 Cal. Flintlock.
I understand these come with a 1/48 twist rate ( barrel is fully rifled). I need to purchase basically everything to shoot, including balls. I was wondering if anyone here has done any experimenting with conicals , patched bullets, Maxi/Mini balls etc. Also I was wondering the difference between Swiss and Goex powder. Thanks in advance guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2020, 12:54 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Your 1/48" twist is a middle of the road twist, not ideal for either but okay for either? I have no experience with Swiss, always used goex or Elephant powder.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-18-2020, 01:05 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

With a 1:48 it is your choice. With a TC renegade 1:48 for over 20yrs I shot a variety of conicals. Some people prefer to stay traditional and only use balls. Some even use sabots, tried a few but never found an advantage and very difficult to get down the barrel. I guess about 25 yrs ago I settled on powerbelts. The 245's in the renegade did real well with deer giving a big wound cavity. Previous conicals, maxi-balls, great plains, shot good but seemed like little shock, tremendous penetration, 50 cal exits, excellent blood but sometimes went pretty far. The powerbelts seemed to give more shock putting them down in a shorter distance and apparently expanded well with larger exits. Powerbelts are very accurate, easiest to load, downside is expense. But I'm only a big game hunter, rifle has been setup for many years, I only shoot a few shots a year so expense is irrelevant. Not sure how many deer I've taken, taken bull moose and elk (both no exit), javelina, crow, groundhogs, with powerbelts.