CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
petejc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Harrisburg, Pa. Dauphin County
Posts: 1,792
Back To Top
CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

Need some help guys. Got this CVA Wolf COmpact (youth) model for my nephew who is 10 yrs old. Got the CVA Universal Muzzleloader Mount.
Now I have mounted a million scopes on regular rifles ..well maybe not a million but at least 75 to 100 over my 67 years on mine and other peoples. I have never been stumped like this before.
First In-line I ever dealt with so..here goes.. Following the instructions I mounted the two bases. As you can see in the pics there is no way you can mount the bases that give a good distance between them. No matter how you try to flip them, they still end up this close. I can't believe the sco0pe is supposed to look like this when finished mounted. Does anyone have this rifle and this exact mount and what did you run into ???? Maybe it is supposed to be mounted like that. Usually the turrets are in the middle of the rings, but if I put them in the middle of the rings I have about 1/8 inch to play with that I can move the scope forward and back for eye relief....confused.




4 years U.S. Navy 61 to 65
30 Years Pa. State Trooper
NRA Life Member
petejc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
petejc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Harrisburg, Pa. Dauphin County
Posts: 1,792
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

Relative my above post....what is that long slot to the right of the primer socket on the breech plug for??. The instructions on the rifle does not even mention it. I may be a little dumb when it comes to these In line muzzy loaders. I have built about 5 flint locks and use them all the time. Not kits either, from blank wood, and Getz bbls, and Siler locks but I never ran into this stuff before....old school I guess.

4 years U.S. Navy 61 to 65
30 Years Pa. State Trooper
NRA Life Member
petejc is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 05:54 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greensburg P.A.
Posts: 3,416
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

what if you spin the rear base around? give you anymore room?

Mathews DXT
HHA sight
Quick Tune 3000
Beaman 340
2 Blade Rage

TC venture .270 win.
Bushnell Elite 3200
Mathews Shooter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 05:56 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greensburg P.A.
Posts: 3,416
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

in your 1st pic I mean.

Mathews DXT
HHA sight
Quick Tune 3000
Beaman 340
2 Blade Rage

TC venture .270 win.
Bushnell Elite 3200
Mathews Shooter is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 06:05 PM
Regular Member
 
frontier gander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bon Carbo, Colorado
Posts: 1,109
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

that rear slot in the plug is for a tool to fit the breech plug to your rifle. You dont have to worry about it, this is done at the factory. If you ever need a new plug, the new plug will come with the wrench and you just seat it really tight and then back off. It forms the nose of the breech plug to your rifle.

That looks like an oldie scope that does not offer much eye relief at all.

The next best ring set up will be the Durasight dead on mount system.


This will be a helper as well:http://gandersmuzzleloadingblog.blog...pem-clean.html
frontier gander is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 06:52 PM
Administrator
 
great white hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: greensburg
Posts: 39,009
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

In your first picture if you cant turn that rear mount around, and leave the front the same then i would suggest a more compact scope, or drill, and tap to properly fit.
great white hunter is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-01-2011, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
petejc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Harrisburg, Pa. Dauphin County
Posts: 1,792
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

Mathews Shooter, Frontier Gander and Great white hunter,
I want to thank you all for trying to help me out. First of all MAt SHooter, that is my problem, those darn bases cannot be flipped around. Thats what I wanted to do. Have one facing one way and having the other facing the other way. If you can see in the one pic of just the bases, you see a slot across each one, well the ring has to fit in there and if I flip one of them the holes don't line up with the holes in the bbl.
Frontier Shooter, yes that is just an old 4x weaver I had for 40 years on the shelf. We are going to put a 3x9 on for him that his dad has. Either way this gun is drilled too close together for my mind. The only thing I can do is go to that mount you show in the pic. His dad already bought thhis one tho....not sure what I'm going to do. I was just trying to find out if I was missing something,,,and mounting it wrong. Thanks again all of you guys.

4 years U.S. Navy 61 to 65
30 Years Pa. State Trooper
NRA Life Member
petejc is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 05:51 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warren, Pa.
Posts: 214
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier gander
The next best ring set up will be the Durasight dead on mount system.
where can we buy that at???
Thanks

Animals: They taste GOOD!

we3jeepers is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 06:32 PM
Regular Member
 
frontier gander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bon Carbo, Colorado
Posts: 1,109
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

This is for the new 2010 model. Those rings are giving you issues due to the fact they were made for the old screw pattern on the previous models.

Heres the one you need for the new wolf,optima,accura v2,Apex,Scout.
http://www.rrarms.com/catalog.php?prod=DS411B
frontier gander is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-09-2011, 01:03 AM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warren, Pa.
Posts: 214
Back To Top
Re: CVA Wolf and Universal Scope mount problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by we3jeepers
Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier gander
The next best ring set up will be the Durasight dead on mount system.
never mind I found one at a local hunting store.....




where can we buy that at???
Thanks

Animals: They taste GOOD!

we3jeepers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome