First Shot - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

First Shot

I have a 50 cal CVA Silver Hunter flint lock that I bought a couple years ago and never shot. I have no flint lock experience and I wanted to try it out for the late season. I understand the basics, but I was curious what essential gear I need to get started. Powder(type)? Suggestions on Ball type? wads? Do you always have to shot the gun to unload it at the end of the day? Safety issues?

I apologize for the dumb questions, but your help will be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 03:56 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: First Shot

It would be good to know the barrel twist of that model. If it's a 1-48 or a 1-60 it will be fine for shooting round ball. If it's a faster 1-28 or so, a conical would be better. If you don't know you can run a tight patch down the barrel and just measure how many inches it takes for the rod to make one complete revolution. (or make one-half a revolution....then multiply by 2).

Powder: Barrel--Goex 2F
Frizzen Powder (Pan powder): Goex 4F
Round Balls: Hornady .490
Patchs: T\C .015 Pillow Ticking
Lube: T\C Bore butter
Flints: Have a few extras of whatever works
Frizzen: I always have an extra one or two with me during the season.

Other "stuff": Ball starter, Alcohol patches, pan powder measure, powder measure for barrel.

Prep: Get to a range as many times as you can so you can put 4 or 5 shots in a 6" pie plate at 50 yards.

Dave

“Nothing external to you has any power over you.” -Emerson

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Thank you for your help. I will let you know how it turns out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 05:39 PM
Frequent Contributor