• 2 Post By Wingatchtochwilsit
  • 1 Post By flintlock hunter
  • 1 Post By Wingatchtochwilsit
  • 1 Post By 410-er

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-24-2019, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Round ball out of in line

I've been shooting round ball muzzle loaders since 1970. In Lines have me perplexed. I think I know the answer but just throwing this out. Can you shoot a patch and ball or buffalo bullets with out a sabot out of an in line ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-24-2019, 05:40 PM
Frequent Contributor

YES patch and ball just like an old timmy muzzleloader--can also use real black powder--
Laylow likes this.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-24-2019, 05:40 PM
Banned

You can shoot round ball from an inline, BUT there's a few tricks to getting it to work.
You'll need to know the twist rate. Round ball doesn't like to spin too fast and group well at the same time.
You'll find that if you drop your charge way down, you can produce good groups with round ball from a faster twist barrel... How far down will depend on your barrel.

A buddy of mine shoots round ball from an old, sorely neglected Optima Pro that he salvaged... hunts with it, loads PRB over 60gr of 3f. Groups about 3" at 100 yards but he won't shoot a deer past 75 with it. If he takes it up to 70gr, the "groups" are 8-12" and just get crazy above that. Serious curveball effect from 1:28 barrels.

One other concern from newer inlines is the their rifling depth. Most were designed with sabots in mind,and might not have rifling cut deep enough to engage well on prb..
This could actually work to your advantage in a fast twist barrel, as it might not "over spin" the ball... but I wouldn't count on this effect. It would be luck if it worked in your favor.

The buffalo bullets would give you better results than round ball, heavier/longer the better.
Laylow and flintlock hunter like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement