Powder question - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 07:45 AM Thread Starter

Powder question

I am kinda new to flintlocking and i have a question on what powder to use in the barrel and what powder for the ignition. Just want to make sure i am using the correct powder. I currently use 4f in the pan but not sure of the powder for in the barrel. I am picking up GOEX black powder tonight and want to get the correct powder. Thanks

4B
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 07:56 AM

4F will work for the main and prime charges. But just remember that you measure the main charge by volume not weight.

I use 3F for the main and prime as it not only simplifies things but the 3F will not dribble out of a closed pan so easily as 4F. FWIW...........

Good night Chesty, wherever you are......
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 08:15 AM Thread Starter

Thank, just want to make sure i buy the right stuff.

4B
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-13-2017, 08:25 AM

For patched round ball The old rule of thumb was 3fg for every thing under 50 cal and 2fg for everything 50 caliber and up. With a modern steel barrel, folks can use moderate charges of 3fg in 50 and 54 caliber guns. Moderate being 80 grains and less.

Shooting a conical or bullet changes the pressure curve and I would not be shooting 3fg in anything over 45 cal with a bullet.

You can get away with 3fg in the barrel and the pan, but 3fg in the pan, is ever so slightly slower to ignite the charge. Many hunters can't tell the difference in speed. Match shooters can notice right off.