Muzzle loader Misadventures - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2016, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Muzzle loader Misadventures

I've been hunting with a flintlock for a few years, still looking for my first kill with it. But I've made plenty of mistakes along the way.

I put together a story of some of them

<span style="color: #33CCFF">Muzzle Loader Misadventures</span>

What mistakes has everyone made while out with the smoke pole?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2016, 01:38 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Muzzle loader Misadventures

Almost every mistake possible, still learning and fine tuning my efforts, but still no deer with my flintlock.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2016, 02:17 PM
The Man

Got one years ago,(sometime in the 80's), with a borrowed TC Renegade in .54 and a PRB. Took it up again a few years ago and have not got one yet, but I don't always hunt. I have, with that Renegade I borrowed, used the set trigger and twice had it go off before I was on the deer, both time because I was wearing gloves.
I now own a Lyman Deerstalker and I was out shooting at the range and the part of my plastic short starter that you can thread a jag into came out as I was loading and I did not notice it. A lot more recoil than usual when I fired so I checked things out and saw that part was missing, so I had fired that and my Spinjag down range, I never found the jag or the other part so now I watch things a little more closely. Other then that I think just a few misses on deer.
Just remembered I broke a wooden ramrod on that Renegade, can't remember how, and bought a replacement one, because that's what you do when you borrow something.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2016, 04:28 PM