Bore Scraper Q. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-31-2014, 11:26 AM Thread Starter

Bore Scraper Q.

Been at this game for quite a while, and swabbed plenty of BP from barrels, but, never used a Scraper. I picked one up on a sale that was made this summer with some other things. It is brass. My question... does scraping the breech with these do any harm to the inside of the barrel ? In other words, will the constant scraping of the breech, wear the inside "finish" and make it more susceptible to gunking up ? I have no experience with them. To get into the breech, I always used the pronged patch puller with a patch, and lightly twisted it down there. So, what say yinz ?

2A-Wash. Co.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-31-2014, 12:10 PM

Re: Bore Scraper Q.

Depends of what your breech configuration is.

A TC hooked breech actually is quite a bit smaller than the bore of the gun. Generally at the back end of the barrel, there is a powder chamber about one inch deep and only about 3/8 inch in diameter. The touch hole (or flash channel from a percussion) leads the fire into this powder chamber and then it burns out to the main charge. This is why when cleaning a TC with the touch hole liner removed, you can't see a patch on the jag come all that way back to the touch hole liner opening.

I have shot an Investarms barrel for years with an identical hooked breech and never used a breech scraper.

The standard of putting a hooked breech barrel breech end into hot water and pumping hot water in and out should be more than enough to clean out the breech. It has to do with the swirling effect of the Benuli prinicple as the water is alternatively pumped and drawn in and out from one size space through a smaller opening. (At least that is what a physicist/shooter once told me)