keeping gun loaded - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2014, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
New Arrival

keeping gun loaded

Hi I have been shooting flint lock for a few years. I usually use the pellets for powder but I am going to black powder this year. How long can you keep the gun loaded without having any corrosion issues. I have cleaned it well an loading it now for tomorrow. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2014, 06:17 AM
The Man

Re: keeping gun loaded

You can keep a BP load in the barrel for the duration of the flint season, without it resulting with a corrosion issue, IF no moisture is introduced.

Moisture can get in through the flash hole, or by way of the particular patch lube used. I can't tell you which lubes will. In general terms, the liquid lubes would be a higher risk than the grease varieties.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2014, 10:47 PM
Part of the Community

I discharge daily with a Co2
run a clean patch down once and clean!!! quick since not fired. Taking gun out in cold and then back inside will cause the barrel to sweat!! moisture, Most likely resulting in a ring barrel. Patch lubes and Spit patch left inside for more than a couple days will result in a Ring Barrel...i've repaired two guns for customers last season..one so bad had to find a TC replacement barrel. Cost too much to risk. Simple to clean...

Chartiers valley#725 F&AM
NMLRA,HCH,CLA,
Forest Grove Sportsmen
Sewickley S & F Club
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2014, 11:05 PM
The Man

Mine stays loaded the full season unless.
A)Damp day
B)Gun is shot

The answers to all of life's questions are found in the Bible!
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-27-2014, 12:31 PM
The Man

I usually shoot mine to unload unless I know I'm going out the next day, and then make sure it stays in the truck. If I shoot, then it gets a quick clean when I get home.