new to flintlock - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

new to flintlock

I have been hunting for about 20 years now, and while archery hunting (traditional and compound) is my passion, I would like to start hunting with a flintlock. I would like to get a flintlock for late season hunting and target shooting, but do not know much at all about them. If they are anything like traditional bows, as far a craftsmanship and quality goes i can appreciate the benefits of a quality hand made piece of equipment vs some cheap big box store piece of equipment. Can anyone give me some information on some builders that build quality flinters, or where to look for some used ones. Some info on .45 vs .50 cal for pa big game would also be great. Thank you for any advise in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 10:37 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: new to flintlock

what are you thinking budget wise? a lot of folks on here recommend dixons. never been there myself, but sounds like a place to go.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 10:43 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

I would like to stay under a grand for the gun, I realize I will also have to buy other equipment. Where is dixons?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 10:54 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

after looking on the map to see where you are at, I think its a few hours away. lots of guys on here will help you out on location ect. have you done any fl shooting already? is there anyone in your area to help you out?
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa