Snowshoe Hares...help needed. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

Hey guys on my winter walk this Sunday I came across some snowshoe hare tracks on my property which thirlls me to death that this particular peice of dirt proves to be habitat for yet another critter. Anyway, after following the tracks for a little while, it looks to me like he is staying in the one area and especially around a big aspen deadfall.

To try to salvage some enjoyment out of this way too long winter i decided I want to set up a trail cam this weekend and try to get pics of him. So my question is..

Should I just set the cam up in the deadfall near the tracks hoping to get him there or is there a food I can set out (under the safety of cover of course) to get him to be where i want him to be, but in good light for a pic.

I once tried the the trail cam approach on a grouse I kept flushing off the same drumming log one spring. Set the cam in his thicket there but never got a pic of him although it triggered a few times. Going to try that again this spring too....

Just a cabin fever reducer... , lets see if we can get a pic of the snowshoe via some suggestions here.

He seems to be frequenting two deadfalls in particular in a creek bottom of hemlock and whitepine. ANd the first one that says carrots is banned..LOL (JK they may be what works)





"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 05:58 PM
Regular Member
 
Smoke'n Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Western PA
Posts: 1,047
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

I am sure that you have more than one camera, I'd try one where you see him hanging out (the deadfall).

With all the snow on the ground you should be able to pinpoint a runway or two that he is consistently using for easy travel. I'd try one on there as well.
Smoke'n Mack is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

he seems to have a run going right up in tight along the trunk of the aspen, that was my first thought.

My other cams are just getting pics of the same group of deer now, so yes i could maybe set up 3 at least for a week or so.

Thanks!




"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 06:36 PM
Part of the Community
 
BUNYRUNR410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 2b&2e Upper Burrell PA
Posts: 141
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

I believe people that trap them use alfalfa if you can get a hold of any

Contenderized!
BUNYRUNR410 is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 06:45 PM Thread Starter
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

GREAT idea, I am pretty sure I saw it at Tractor Supply when I was getting bedding for my wife's class varmints.




"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 06:46 PM
Sage
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24,559
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

Trim some apple branches lay them near the aspen and if there is any rabbit or hare you will have your picture!!

wmu 3A
timberdoodle is online now  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

Got those too, in fact they be fresh as Sunday!! Maybe a small brush pile of apple/crabapple branches with afalfa underneath? Put the camera at ground level?




"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 06:56 PM
Sage
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24,559
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

You'll do just fine with those cuttings... I wouldn't buy alfalfa just for that...

If you have some fine but wouldn't go crazy trying to get a bale...

wmu 3A
timberdoodle is online now  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

They have little snack size bales for guiena pigs and such that is what i was thinking.

I suspect this to be a jackalope (had to say it) , I will spare no expense to find out.

Thanks all for the good info. Hopefully the snow last long enough to set up on that trail so i don;t have to go off memory.




"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 09:18 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 2,125
Back To Top
Re: Snowshoe Hares...help needed.

Could also try some aspen cuttings
Dobsonknob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome