5C pheasant hunting - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-19-2013, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

5C pheasant hunting

well this is my first year seriously pheasant hunting, and it has become a obsession of sorts I guess! wish I would've started sooner. so my first time out, I was lucky enough to meet a guy that allowed me to follow him around and told me to take first shot if we flushed something, so we got down to the end of the field and I stop to tie my shoe and a hen flushes and im just standing there watching the thing fly away(never seen a pheasant before) and hes telling me to shoot! ha! that sealed the deal for me, my knees were a little wobbly like I get from seeing a deer! didn't get nothing that day but had a blast! so buddy and I decided to hit that spot up the following Saturday and after we pushed to the end of a field with nothing to show we here this cackling, sounded just like the pheasants do on tv so we figured there was maybe some roosters went over to check it out and he goes messing around in some thick stuff while I stay back I didn't feel like messin in the briars, as im watching him this hen flushes like 4 feet from right next to me about gave me a heart attack I miss that sucker two time! don't know what happened. so now im bummed, we go and push another field he flushes a bird and misses and then I flush it again and I miss two more times, now im bummed. so we decided to do one more push, as were walking I find a dead rooster laying on the ground I picked it up and decided to take it to see if was any good still didn't smell bad or anything. about ten minutes later my buddy flushes a hen and it flys right infront of me and I miss three times, I decided Im done for the day!! he goes back around and flushes a beautiful rooster he dumps with one shot.