Got my first double today. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

Got my first double today.

I've been hunting PA pheasants off and on for 20 years now. I've gotten 2 in a day before, but this is my first real double on the Ditch Chickens.

My pup Willie is learning the ropes and has done well so far this season. He loves his job so much that when he gets out of the truck and hits the woods or fields he is like lightning. Full speed in every direction for about 30 mins or so and then he settles down and starts to work. Well today was no different.

2 mins from the truck Willie was working a big thick fence row. I'm not sure if the birds flushed from the noise he was making or if he bumped them. Either way 2 roosters took flight and I watched them disappear behind a tree line. I had a shot on at least one, but did not shoot without seeing or knowing there was a point.

Willie took off again but I was trying to keep him close at this point with the whistle and "Here". He still got out to about 100 yards in front in a long field and went on point. As I got closer I could see the grass twitching out in front of WIllie. I walked faster to get to him and the rooster flushed when I got to about 40 yards away. I did not take a shot and just watched the rooster fly. I did not want to risk injuring the bird at that distance.

After lots of praise and love Willie took off again. We worked a real thick edge of woods on the left and a thick fence row on the right. There must have been some birds running ahead of us in the fence row because Willie went on point a couple times, but there was nothing there when I went in to flush.