Hares with a Springer? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-13-2019, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Hares with a Springer?

Hi guys: PA hunting opportunities are getting slim this late in the season. I have a young springer that I started training on pheasant a few weeks ago. There don’t seem to be many birds left on the game lands. I am thinking about driving north for some kind of hunting opportunities.

I have hunting licenses in NY and VT already. I have put hares out over the years in VT and I know there are a lot of hares in upsatate NY. Grouse is closed in VT but hare is open through March. In NY, grouse and hare are open for about 2 more months. New York gives me the option of both but I’d have to camp.

I have a place to stay in VT but I’d be limited to hare. Unfortunately, I don’t have a beagle. Anyone here ever had success on hares with a bird dog? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2019, 07:33 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

No idea withe springer on hare thing, but maybe created a post or thread to try to do a hare / grouse combo hunt? Team up with some beagle guys, hunt hare one day, then grouse the next day? I'm down to 1 beagle, but if you setup trip I would love to give it a try.
Gene Nj
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2019, 07:40 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Springer Rage View Post
Hi guys: PA hunting opportunities are getting slim this late in the season. I have a young springer that I started training on pheasant a few weeks ago. There donít seem to be many birds left on the game lands. I am thinking about driving north for some kind of hunting opportunities.