5Likes
  • 2 Post By huntined
  • 1 Post By Woods walker
  • 2 Post By cmrosko

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2018, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

upland road trip

I'm pretty new to upland hunting... this is my first year. Watching a gun dog show got me to thinking about drive-able pheasant hunts. The episode showed a hunt in KS (18 hour drive from me... way too far for a casual road trip). I found a map that'll draw a radius circle around a point and one that'll draw a drive time radius.

Most of the states "known" for pheasant hunting are hike from western PA.

Are there any locations outside of PA within approximately an 8 hour/500 mile drive from Pittsburgh area that are worth the effort for a pheasant/wild pheasant hunt? I realize that's kind of a vague question but I was hoping to spark a conversation on a slow rainy day at work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 8 hour drive.JPG (113.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 500 mile radius.JPG (137.9 KB, 5 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2018, 02:37 PM

If you are looking for a wild pheasant hunt in Pennsylvania you are out of luck.

But, if you are just looking for good pheasant hunting there are many places within a couple hours’ drive that have some excellent pheasant hunting. I had 245 pheasant up over my dog while hunting public land in the local area this fall.

I know a couple who went to South Dakota to hunt wild pheasants on their honeymoon a few year ago. After two days they came back to hunt on our local game lands. They said the pheasant hunting was much better here.

Dick Bodenhorn
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2018, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

thanks dick

i'm learning my way around areas local to home and camp, but i was looking outside of pa within an 8ish hour drive.

a worthy road trip hunt that doesn't require driving to kansas or south dakota. the answer might be... that doesn't exist.
Sponsored Links