FINALLY! - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-30-2013, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

FINALLY!

i've been hunting spring gobblers for a few years now, as hard as i can. mostly a weekend warrior and maybe a day off here and there through the week. ive come close a few times but something always seemed to happen. well this year was finally my year.

i have always had decent farms with good numbers of gobblers but could never seal the deal... ive asked a few guys in past to come with me or let me tag along with them gunless just to see what im doing wrong. no one ever wanted to so if it was gonna happen i am gonna have to do it myself.

i got laid off a week before the season opened. i spent the entire week leading up to the opener out scouting. every morning up and out the door well before dawn then afternoons knocking on doors and checking farms i already had permission on. friday finally came and i narrowed my selection down and set out to pick a few spots out. i wasnt sure what pressure would be like, all i knew was how many cars id see going by through the week. as usual i was taking my dad along. granted we have never bagged a bird in the past we always have fun and we both look forward to the time spent together as we dont get to hunt together much anymore. that night i realized i could still buy a bonus tag. i thought my time was up and i couldnt get one so after checking the regs i jumped in the truck and ran to dicks and picked one up...thankfully becausssseeee...