Evening hunts, tactic change - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DrakesOnly

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
Banned

Evening hunts, tactic change

I’m not a greatly experienced or greatly successful turkey hunter but I still love going out. I’ve always kept things simple. Either roost the birds or at least have a good idea where they are. Get in early and “click” at fly down and hopefully get to work a bird in. So far this season, due to work, a training trip to Georgia and our family vacation I’ve only hunted the first day and it was cut short due to wind and a cold 8 year old. I’m hoping to put some evenings in the late part of the season. I’ve never tried that before. I’m assuming I get close to where I think they will roost and call them in. What calling strategies are working for you guys and is there anything I’m missing. I’ll be doing this with my son in tow so I need to keep things pretty simple since He may also end up being the one behind the gun.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 11:33 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I have had success with getting in the area where they roost and do soft calling every 15-20 minutes but i never go crazy with my calling. Sometimes they have answered me and other times just came in silent and fed right to me when its close to roosting time. Thats what i plan on doing unless i get lucky and fill tag#2. Its been dead quiet since the first day and i have been out almost every morning before work. Good luck Just cross your fingers your in the area they plan on roosting that evening. My problem is there are 4 roosting sites on this 100 acres i am on. I just flip a coin and hope for the best lol.

4B
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
Banned

That was basically what I was thinking. There are a couple roosting areas around. Like you say toss a coin if you can’t see them coming.
Sponsored Links