New Antler Restriction Problem - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 50 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

New Antler Restriction Problem

Here is the setup.
I do most of my deer hunting in Potter County, the Conrad area. Been hunting there since the mid 70ís. If you have hunted that area you know that you can find yourself 1 to 3 miles from a road pretty quickly. The issue is not antler restriction, I started practicing that long before it was mandated. Deer population very low for a lot of reasons, thatís a whole other topic. I have been lucky enough to harvest a 9 point last year and a 7 point this year, both being respectable not huge 15Ē or so inside spreads.

The problem
The problem is twofold size of the deer and my age. These buck were both in the 140 pound range field dressed. I was lucky enough not being way back in where I have shot buck in the past. Dragging uphill would not have been an option alone.

I was just wondering if any of you are experiencing this problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 50 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 12:25 PM
The Man

Re: New Antler Restriction Problem

Hunt with a buddy or get a deer cart of some sort.

2F for a while...
post #3 of 50 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 12:26 PM
Banned

Location: The village of Saint Thomas, Franklin County, PA 4B, but most likely hunting in either 4A or 2C

Yep. At age 70 it isn't as easy as it used to be.
Fortunately I have a couple of younger guys who hunt with me who insist upon my carrying a radio and they come to help me drag mine out when I get one. What was it Crocodile Dundee said about "Mates?" They are pretty handy to have around at such times.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 50 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 12:29 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I also hunt by myself and a deer cart is the best thing there is at my age.

Life Member NAHC

Garrett AT PRO

USN 1964-1985

Prostate Cancer Survivor