Deerfield Plantation Hunt 2017 - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-23-2017, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
The Man

Deerfield Plantation Hunt 2017

Last week I made my annual trip to hunt Deerfield Plantation in South Carolina. I’ve been hunting Deerfield almost every year since 1995. The hunt has been very good to me over the years; including this hunt, I’ve taken 30 bucks, 28 does, 4 hogs and 2 bobcats at Deerfield, averaging 3 deer per trip. This hunt I was accompanied by old Muttleysgone (George), Bumblehick (Joe) and Cuz (BH’s cousin John). On the hunt, George and I road along with Bill Sr. and his twin son’s Bill Jr. and Walt, guided by Jim. Through the bulk of the hunt we had 11 hunters in camp, all having hunted together in previous seasons.

Deerfield Plantation is located near St. George, South Carolina and is owned and operated by Hugh Walters. The plantation consists of 12,000 acres of mostly owned and some leased crop land, cultivated timber, and hardwood swamps, the main property laying at the juncture of the Indian Field and Polk swamps in Dorchester County, SC. The plantation is home to a multitude of wildlife including deer (estimated population at 1 per acre), hogs, bobcats, coyotes, a variety of small game, birds and waterfowl, as well as various reptiles and snakes.