Motorola GMRS / FRS Channels / Privacy Codes by County - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Jerbo

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Motorola GMRS / FRS Channels / Privacy Codes by County

I am a licensed amateur radio operator - Amateur Extra Class License.

A thought came to me, to try to organize a Home Channel for each county in Pennsylvania for the Deer Rifle Season this year.

Maybe by suggesting a certain channel / Frequency - and Privacy Code - for the Motorola Talk About radios, we can set up an Emergency Channel / Frequency, that can be used by all hunters in that county for Emergency Aid / Assistance.

I realize that those radios has a range - Line of Sight, which may be as little as 100 yards or as much as 3 miles - where I hunt, depending upon terrain.
But if we can arrange a home channel / frequency that everyone can monitor for their county, we could possibly offer to monitor those channels / frequencies.

In Jefferson County - I monitor Channel 7, using privacy code 13.
I scan all of the channels using a second handheld radio.
I also have access to a LMRS 465 MHz. repeater that can be used to call for help in areas where there is no or limited cell phone service..

React monitors / uses- GMRS Motorola Channel 20! 462.675 MHz +5.0
Steve in PA likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 08:32 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

That's a pretty neat idea. I carry one of the Midland GTX radios. I use it to keep in touch with some of my friends hunting in the same area, but not necessarily with me. Luzerne County area.

Steve
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 09:14 PM
The Man

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve in PA View Post
That's a pretty neat idea.
Yes it is.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 09:26 PM

This would be really cool, but how would we do it?